top of page
Search
  • Sophie Stekel

Sam Stones

Updated: Dec 8, 2019

Sam Stones AKA @highkeygoth. No, that's not his real name.



Name: Sam Stones*

Year: 3rd year

Program: BMOS, Consumer Behaviour

Instagram handle: @highkeygoth

Style described in 3 words: Ever-changing, monochromatic, vintage


Sam Stones says the Instagram @highkeygoth is ironic in a sense. "I'm not goth at all," he says.


He went through a phase in high school, like most of us do, where he wore head-to-toe black every single day. When people asked why, he joked: "I'm making the transition to goth. That's my culture now. That's what I'm identifying as."


"It's low key shits and giggles," he says about his Instagram handle. "But I'm never looking back."


"With the Internet nowadays, you can kind of be whoever you want to be."


Stones began studying in Western's Medical Sciences program because he thought he wanted to be a doctor. But after coming into himself at university and getting involved in the Fashion & Lifestyle Society, he realized his true calling: fashion.

“What I love about fashion is that to me, it's a tangible sort of art form that you can play around with and create different silhouettes and visual storyboards on your own body.”

Stones says he gets a lot of his inspiration from the queer community.








If school doesn't work out for him, he has a plan B.

"There's that side of me that's like: "You know what? Maybe I'll just drop out and move to L.A." I don't know. Try to sing at some bars, send out some mixtapes to a record producer and see if I blow up. Maybe I won't blow up and I'll start dancing on tables. Who knows? I'm in third year."

* = not his real name. But that's what he goes by. Because he's that cool.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page